Study 2018

Peter Liffler (1), Eva Milena Johanne Peters (2), Uwe Gieler (3)

Sensitivity and Atopy

Are there indications of “sensory processing sensitivity” (SPS) in atopically predisposed persons? – An examination of parents of children with atopic dermatitis in inpatient treatment

 

(Summary)

 

Objectives:

Clinically, the parents of children with atopic dermatitis often give the impression of increased sensitivity. It was examined, whether the parents show characteristics of  “Sensory Processing Sensitivity" (SPS) such as extraordinary perception and processing, hypersensitivity to external stimuli, increased excitability and excessive demands.

 

Methods:

64 parents of children with atopic dermatitis were therefore examined with the Highly Sensitive Person Scale (Aron 1996) and three proven questionnaires. Parents with atopic disposition and children with atopic dermatitis (n= 44) were compared with non-atopic parents (n=20). In addition, atopic parents of slightly ill children (n = 24) and atopic parents of severely ill children (n = 20) were compared with non-atopic parents of children with atopic dermatitis (n=20).

 

Results:

The comparison of 44 parents with atopic disposition with 20 non-atopic parents showed a significantly higher sensitivity, excitability, a stronger propensity for esoteric thinking and a reduced frustration tolerance in the parents with atopic disposition. They showed significant differences in three other characteristics: the mood was more depressed, life satisfaction was lower and stress increased. There were no significant differences between atopically predisposed parents of slightly ill children and atopically predisposed parents of seriously ill children.

Conclusions: Atopically predisposed parents of children with atopic dermatitis show properties according to the construct of "sensory processing sensitivity" (SPS). The influence of these properties on children with atopic dermatitis, in particular the increased responsiveness (Aron and Aron 1997, Boterberg and Warreyn 2016), should be investigated in further studies.

 

Keywords:

Atopic dermatitis - parents with atopic disposition - Sensory processing sensitivity - SPS

Studie 2018

Peter Liffler (1), Eva Milena Johanne Peters (2), Uwe Gieler (3)

Sensitivität und Atopie

Gibt es Hinweise auf Eigenschaften der „Sensory processing sensitivity" (SPS) bei atopisch veranlagten Persönlichkeiten? – Eine Untersuchung an Eltern Neurodermitis-kranker Kinder in stationärer Behandlung

 

(Zusammenfassung)

 

Fragestellung:

Klinisch erwecken die Eltern Neurodermitis-kranker Kinder oft den Eindruck der erhöhten Sensitivität. Untersucht wurde, ob die Eltern Eigenschaften der „Sensory processing sensitivity” (SPS) wie außergewöhnliche Wahrnehmung und Verarbeitung, Überempfindlichkeit auf äußere Reize, erhöhte Erregbarkeit und Überforderung zeigen.

 

Methode:

64 Eltern von Neurodermitis-kranken Kindern wurden deshalb mit dem HS-Test (Aron 1996) und drei bewährten Auskunftsfragebögen untersucht. Dabei wurden selbst atopisch veranlagte (n=44) mit nicht atopisch veranlagten Eltern verglichen (n=20). Außerdem wurden atopisch veranlagte Eltern von leicht Neurodermitis-kranken Kindern (n = 24) und atopisch veranlagte Eltern schwer Neurodermitis-kranker Kinder (n=20) mit nicht atopisch veranlagten Eltern Neurodermitis-kranker Kinder verglichen (n=20).

Ergebnisse: Der Vergleich von 44 atopisch-veranlagten Eltern mit 20 nicht atopisch-veranlagten Eltern zeigte bei den atopisch veranlagten Eltern eine signifikant höhere Empfindsamkeit, Erregbarkeit, eine stärkere Neigung zum esoterischen Denken und eine verringerte Frustrationstoleranz. Tendenziell signifikante Unterschiede zeigten atopisch veranlagte Eltern in drei weiteren Merkmalen: Die Grundstimmung war bedrückter, die Lebenszufriedenheit geringer und die Beanspruchung erhöht. Im Vergleich der atopisch-veranlagten Eltern leicht kranker Kinder mit atopisch-veranlagten Eltern schwer kranker Kinder fanden sich keine signifikanten Unterschiede.

 

Diskussion:

Atopisch veranlagte Eltern Neurodermitis-kranker Kinder zeigen Eigenschaften entsprechend dem Konstrukt der „sensory processing sensitivity“ (SPS). Der Einfluss dieser Eigenschaften auf Neurodermitis-kranke Kinder, insbesondere die erhöhte Responsivität (Aron u. Aron 1997; Boterberg u. Warreyn 2016), sollte im Rahmen weiterführender Studien untersucht werden.

 

Schlüsselwörter:

Atopische Dermatitis - atopisch veranlagte Eltern – Sensorische Verarbeitungsempfindlichkeit - SPS